basketballscotland U14 National Academy squads announced

More than forty young basketballers from across Scotland are travelling to Manchester this week to take part in the Humphrey Long Invitational Tournament.

Organised by Basketball England, the two-day event sees two teams from Scotland, two England teams and an Aspire select team – chosen from Basketball England’s Aspire programme – compete in a series of games at the National Basketball Performance Centre. The five team structure will be the same for both boys and girls.

Humphrey Long, known as Humph, was a well known and respected figure in English basketball, having coached teams well into his 80’s and played an important role in the development of several international players.

The tournament games will be played in 8 minute quarters, with each team playing each other in a ‘round robin’ format.

The four Scottish teams were selected by coaching staff after two regional academy events were held at Bathgate Academy in May and June. The events saw in excess of 150 players coming together to take part in a range of skill challenges.

Speaking ahead of the tournament, basketballscotland’s Head of Basketball, Barry Lang, was excited to get started at the new National Academy:

“Following on from our successful Regional Academy programme, we’ve harnessed that enthusiasm and established a new U14 National Academy. Players and staff are looking forward to travelling to Manchester, where we will face England and a select Aspire team.”

Boys’ roster

  • David Black
  • Fraser Smith
  • Jack Stratton
  • LJ Milligan
  • Cameron McCabe
  • Ben Adams
  • Harvey Berry
  • Archie Wakeling
  • Rory Eason
  • Lennox Miller
  • Robbie Gilmour
  • Nilavan Tamijmarane
  • Jack Tuck
  • Lachie Pringle
  • Oliver Archer
  • Andrew Melville
  • Emre Yilmaz
  • Cameron Jackson
  • Cohen Smith
  • Joey Harland-Sendra
  • George Henderson
  • Jack Dalgarno
  • Reuben Mcneil
  • Fraser Burnett
  • Cameron McCabe

Girls’ roster

  • Sofia Amis
  • Rebecca Douglas
  • Eve Macdougall
  • Anya Morrison
  • Zoe Sharpe
  • Sally Campbell
  • Louise Fisher
  • Eilidh Mason
  • Kirsty Morrison
  • Leah Tervit Stark
  • Lauren Cooper
  • Alexandria Gellatly
  • Kerry McGhee
  • Evie Phillips
  • Dayna Thomson
  • Sophie Cram
  • Chelsy Hughes
  • Alix McIntosh
  • Abby Reid
  • Kristin Wilson
  • Emily Dagger
  • Emma Kerr
  • Olivia Mitchell
  • Erin O’Sullivan
  • Zoe Sharpe